Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Review: The Marriage Pact by Michelle Richmond

by Michelle Richmond
Release Date: July 25, 2017

How far is too far when it comes to protecting your marriage? Find out in this relentlessly paced novel of psychological suspense for anyone who loved The Couple Next Door.

“Gripping, thought-provoking, and irresistible.”—Dean Koontz

Newlyweds Alice and Jake are a picture-perfect couple. Alice, once a singer in a well-known rock band, is now a successful lawyer. Jake is a partner in an up-and-coming psychology practice. Their life together holds endless possibilities. After receiving an enticing wedding gift from one of Alice’s prominent clients, they decide to join an exclusive and mysterious group known only as The Pact.

The goal of The Pact seems simple: to keep marriages happy and intact. And most of its rules make sense. Always answer the phone when your spouse calls. Exchange thoughtful gifts monthly. Plan a trip together once per quarter. . . .

Never mention The Pact to anyone.

Alice and Jake are initially seduced by the glamorous parties, the sense of community, their widening social circle of like-minded couples.

And then one of them breaks the rules.

The young lovers are about to discover that for adherents to The Pact, membership, like marriage, is for life. And The Pact will go to any lengths to enforce that rule.

For Jake and Alice, the marriage of their dreams is about to become their worst nightmare.

Praise for The Marriage Pact
“This fast-paced nail-biter goes in unpredictable directions. . . . It also raises thoughtful questions about individual agency and marital commitment. With strong writing, intriguing characters, and a compelling conceit, this psychological thriller seems destined for the top of summer reading lists. Recommended as a fresh voice for readers of Gillian Flynn or Ruth Ware.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Creepy and engrossing . . . [The Marriage Pact takes] readers deep into the heart of a marriage and exposes some of the darker drives, such as possession and control, that can lurk within even the most harmonious of unions.”Booklist

My review: 4 stars
The Marriage Pact is so different from what I typically read, but the blurb intrigued me so much that I just had to request an ARC. Although I did enjoy Girl on the Train and several of Gillian Flynn's novels, including Gone Girl, Sharp Objects, and Dark Places, I just typically find myself drawn to romance. I think The Marriage Pack would make a FANTASTIC movie- this story was so well-written and the dialog was amazing. Both of the main characters are well developed and likable. The story line was intense and I had a hard time putting this book down- I was so anxious to find out what happened next. Overall, a great read!



Pin It!

No comments:

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails